View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently September 1st, 2014, 5:24 pm

Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
 Javon Ringer MSU 
Pro Bowl Player

Post Javon Ringer MSU
I am not the biggest College football fan, but I keep hearing people talk about this kid. I see he is a senior, and keep hearing comparisons to Barry Sanders.

Is he that good? Haven't seen too much on youtube yet - just wondering if anyone has input

September 24th, 2008, 12:24 pm
Profile WWW
RIP Killer

I obviously watch MSU a lot. First, he is no Barry Sanders. Lorenzo White was a great MSU tailback (and 1st round pick) back when I was a student, how did his pro career go? It went as well as most RBs that play college in the state of Michigan, not well.

The Spartans list him at 5'9", 202-pounds, so you know he is even smaller. But he looks pretty solidly built for his frame (bigger upper body than Barry for sure).

He averaged 6.7 ypc as a Fresh, 5.9 last year, and is down to 4.9 this year. He is simply getting a lot more touches now that Caulcrick is gone.

I'd say he runs about a 4.4 in the 40 as he looks pretty quick on the field.

Right now I'd put him in the top 2-3 RB's to enter the 2009 draft, but it still very early. Also, think about the level of competition he has faced with pansies like Florida Atlantic, Eastern Michigan, and Notre Dame. Although, there appear to be a few more cup cakes on the schedule like Indiana this week and Michigan in a few (sorry, couldn't resist).

But Barry Sanders he is not, not even close.

GO SPARTANS!

September 24th, 2008, 12:55 pm
Profile WWW
RIP Killer

Post Re: Javon Ringer MSU
Ferris wrote:
I am not the biggest College football fan, but I keep hearing people talk about this kid. I see he is a senior, and keep hearing comparisons to Barry Sanders.

Is he that good? Haven't seen too much on youtube yet - just wondering if anyone has input