View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently August 16th, 2018, 11:23 pm

Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 Cullpepper Hurt 
Pro Bowl Player

Post Cullpepper Hurt
Left the game aftering taking a helmet on the knee... Brad Johnson is in.

Not good for the Vikes.

October 30th, 2005, 3:19 pm
5th Round Pick - Traded

No updates yet, but here's a gloomy outlook:

Quote:
CHARLOTTE, N.C. (Oct. 30, 2005) -- Vikings quarterback Daunte Culpepper could miss the rest of the season after injuring his right knee against Carolina, coach Mike Tice said.

"The quarterback doesn't appear to be in good shape," Tice said. "I'm not a doctor, but the initial tests are not good. It doesn't appear that it's going to be anything that we as Vikings will want to hear.

"Things happen that are devastating. This certainly, if it's as serious as it appears, is devastating to our football team."

Culpepper ran for an 18-yard gain on the final play of the first quarter when he was hit by multiple defenders. Carolina cornerback Chris Gamble came in from the side and tackled Culpepper's leg and he immediately grabbed his knee.

Culpepper was helped off the field and taken to a cart for the ride into the locker room. The team initially said he sprained his knee.

He was on crutches with a heavy brace around his knee after the game and said he wouldn't know anything until after undergoing an MRI on Oct. 31.

"I'm not talking about anything," Culpepper said. "We don't know the extent of the damage right now. I really can't talk about it until we do the MRIs and find out."

Vikings trainer Chuck Barta said the team hadn't ruled out a possible torn anterior cruciate ligament in Culpepper's knee.

Brad Johnson replaced Culpepper and went 13-for-28 for 162 yards and a touchdown in Minnesota's 38-13 loss to the Panthers.