It was a TD. He caught it in the field of play and the ball came out after he crossed the plane. Two different rules.
Yes, but it shouldn't be. He was still in the "act" of making the catch as he was going to the ground. The fact that he grabbed the ball while in the field of play then crossed the plane while he was falling should have absolutely no bearing on the end result. Calvin held the ball for a longer period of time than Cruz, yet his was considered a no catch.
It's why I have said all along that it was a poor interpretation of a poorly worded rule, which goes against what is said in a previous rule governing acceptable catches. Going to the ground was written for players who dive for a ball, or who leave their feet to catch a ball and hit the ground with something other than their feet first. There is nothing in the rule that says a player must make a "football move" or hold onto the ball long enough to make a "football move" when the going tot he ground rule is enforced.
The NFL has a dozen or more lawyers sitting around picking their collective butts, and they can't word that rule any better? A fifth grader could have done a better job with a box of crayons and a loose leaf notebook.